Sarah-Jane Whittaker


My friendly and empathetic nature is what attracted me to practising family law as I truly want to help people through the difficult periods in their lives. I focus on obtaining the best possible outcome for clients while ensuring that they feel heard and understood throughout. It is fundamental for clients to make informed decisions, understanding the benefits and risks of each route to be taken. This is the approach that I take in my advice as I want to ensure that my clients feel that they understand what could happen, and what is coming.

Each situation is entirely different, requiring tailored advice and different approaches. I aim to assist my clients in reaching an amicable resolution however, I provide realistic advice. I will not shy away from Court proceedings if they become proportionate and necessary for my client.

  • Divorce
  • Marital Finances
  • Cohabitation Disputes
  • Pre-nuptial Agreements
  • Separation Agreements
  • Cohabitation Agreements
  • Children + Contact arrangements

Experience and qualifications

  • In addition to managing and building my own caseload, I directly assist Robin Charrot and Debra Lowy on more complex family cases. I have been very fortunate to work alongside two extremely knowledgeable and experienced lawyers. As a result, I have worked on a variety of cases, including Maintenance Pending Suit applications, Schedule 1 claims, more modest asset cases and pre-nuptial agreements.
  • I graduated with a First-Class Law degree before completing an LLM (Masters) in Legal Practice at BPP University in 2023.
  • I have extensive experience in disputes concerning unmarried couples, working predominantly in this area throughout my training contract. My background is in Civil Litigation which is crucial for cohabitee disputes as this area is not governed in the same way as matrimonial disputes. I am therefore able to apply my knowledge of the CPR rules to each case while understanding, and applying, the overlaps with family law.

What I do when I'm not being a lawyer

Going out for food with friends, travelling, spending time with my partner and I also enjoy a hike on the weekends when I can.